Number of results: 25
, currently showing 21 to 25.
Comber
Historial figure
Situated in The Square in Comber, it was erected in 1845 to commemorate the bravery of Major General Robert 'Rollo' Gillespie born in the town in 1766.
Newtownards
Historic Sites, Houses, Castles & Buildings
At the east of High Street in Newtownards the Market Cross was built in 1636 but was destroyed by Commonwealth troops in 1653.
Comber
Castle / Fort
This ruined Tower House commands a position at the north end of Mahee Island in Strangford Lough. The house was built in 1570 by an English soldier called Captain Browne. Today, it is badly ruined but still of considerable interest.
Newtownards
Abbey / Priory
At the south east edge of Newtownards these substantial remains of a Dominican (Black) Friary founded in 1244 may be viewed. They are the only ones of their type in Northern Ireland.
Groomsport
Visitor Centres & Museums
Take a step back in time with a visit to the lovingly restored Cockle Row Cottages located beside the harbour, Groomsport.